Prize history

How to apply

Selection panel





The Steacie Prize Selection Panel

Each year the Trustees appoint a distinguished panel to select the best candidate.

The 2017 selection panel consisted of:

Dr. J. Smol (Chair)
Department of Biology
Queen's University

Dr. A.R.W. McKellar (Secretary)
National Research Council, Ottawa

Dr. L. Mysak (Panel Chair)
Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences
McGill University

Dr. J.W. Hepburn
Canadian Institute for Advanced Research

Dr. S. Aitken
Department of Forest and Conservation Sciences
University of British Columbia

Dr. J.E. Hesser
National Research Council, Victoria



"Because I work in a non-traditional field, the Steacie Prize was important to having paleolimnology recognized - within the scientific community -- as a valid area of research."

Dr. J.P. Smol - Queen's University, 1992